April 28, 2017 – Last Day on the Throne

Today, I am parting my ways with the stone terrace.

My Throne.

The Sofa Hinge.

It seems so hard to believe, that just months ago, I was assigned this sit spot.

The semester has gone by quickly, and while usually, I am thanking the Lord for the swiftness, in which the semesters flow, I am now finding myself quite sad.

I will miss Dr. Silver’s random spurts of energy!

Near the end of the semester, I was able to comfortably interact and learn every individual in my classroom (I think they had to get used to my semi – loud upbeat personality).

I have had the tremendous pleasure of being in two classes that emphasize the importance of the community: INT 201: Building the Community, with Dr. Andrew Silver and Insight in the Community with Dr. Jay Black.

Thanks to those two professors, I’ve been able to socialize with the biggest influencers of this community and learn the intricacies of Macon.

To name a few:

  • Mayor Robert Reichert
  • Macon Water Authority
  • Brad Evans from The Creek Radio Station
  • Macon Outreach
  • Carla Redding (Otis Redding’s Daughter)
  • Board of Education
  • Alex Morrisson from the Urban Development Authority
  • JR Olive from the Mill Hill Project
  • Macon Chamber of Commerce
  • Frank Austin
  • Channel 41 WMAZ

and many more…

This has been a semester that I will never forget.

I was able to express my sentiments to Dr. Silver, after he introduced me to the new tree around my area, as well as the newly blooming Virginia Sweetspire plants. I only wish that we were able to travel out into the community earlier on in the semester as well. Classroom learning is important,  but there’s something so refreshing and rewarding about hands-on activities. I was glad to know that he too felt the same way, and next semester, he will work to make that happen.

I’m also grateful, although the rain from this morning allowed mud puddles for me to step in, for this moment to reflect on many things in life.

I’ve learned so many things from this class that I’ve been able to incorporate into my daily life.

Next May 2018, I will be graduating and soon will depart from the city of Macon. I hope that I will be able to bring the lessons that I’ve learned and take them with me to whatever community I end up in, afterward.

For the time being, I will continue to interact with the Macon-Bibb community, and find out other ways in which I can be a help.

Thanks to Dr. Silver for an eye-opening semester. I definitely won’t forget my junior year!


To whoever claims my sitting spot next semester:

Work the throne. Own the throne. Own Dr. Silvers class – you’ve got it. Make sure that you really engage with the things that you’re learning. The information that you receive will be beneficial for life! Be open!

Leave a Reply

